Thursday, July 29

Art wallpaper with stars

Art wallpaper with stars


A really in-depth tutorial on how to create a nice abstract art style wallpaper.

Inspired from Summer Collection - Wallpaper by Benjigarner

Begin by representing the file that would have 1600×1200 px and 72 dpi.

Choose after that the Rectangle Tool (U) to draw the background of the picture to be. 




Select next parameters for the made layer by making a mouse click on this layer on the layers’ palette.
Blending Options>Gradient Overlay 






Gradient’s parameters: 









Use the last applied tool to draw this time a vertical stripe. 




The layer’s parameters: Fill 0%
Blending Options>Gradient Overlay
 




 * Gradient’s parameters: 



* Blending Options>Stroke 






Create another layer above the previous one and press CTRL+E for Merge Down the layers. Place the new got layer, containing the stripe as it is demonstrated below: 



Make a copy of the last made layer and use on it the next filter’s options: Filter>Distort>Shear 






Make three copies of the layer with the filter and select the Free Transform option to place the copies the same way indicated next image: 



The two first layers containing the stripes should have the same parameters, shown below:
Blending Options>Drop Shadow 





Next we have to make a click on Add a Mask option on the bottom part of the layers’ palette, but this click should be made on each layer containing the stripe. Select after that the Gradient Tool (G) to represent the half – opacity effect on the stripes’ ends. On the vertical stripe the half – opacity should be present on its top and its bottom. 



Half – opacity effect on the left and right sides: 



Apply the same method described above for the next layer too: 






Make a copy of the layer containing the vertical stripe (move off the mask out of the copy). Select then the Free Transform option to change the stripe’s shape on the copy and cut out the unnecessary elements from it, choosing the Eraser Tool (E) for this operation. This layer must be situated lower than the rest of the layers, the same way shown below: 



make a mouse click on the same layer on Add a Mask option and select the Brush Tool (B) (Opacity 20%) of black color to represent a half – opacity effect.





Create a new layer and use the Pen Tool (P) on it to draw a star of white color.




Make many copies of the layer having the white star on it and choose the Free Transform selection for changing the copies’ sizes, placing the copies as the way from below: 



Combine in a group all the layers containing the white stars (hold on Ctrl button to mark out the appropriate layers and make a click on the left mouse’s button to take down the marked layer on Create a new groupselection). Apply next demonstrated parameters on the made group: Blending mode-Overlay 



Make a copy of the last made group, Merge Down the group’s layers into a single one (CTRL+E) and apply for this layer the next filter’s option: Filter>Blur>Motion Blur 





FINAL RESULT 







Saturday, July 24

Design a grunge styled portrait in Photoshop


Design a grunge styled portrait in Photoshop

Step 1
Open the photo of the lady in Photoshop and go to Image>Image size.
Switch the width value to 2000px and make sure that “constrain proportions” is checked. We have resized the image because too large and it could be more difficult to find a texture of the same size.


Step 2
With the Lasso tool select the head of the lady and add a layer mask (click on the “add layer mask button” at the bottom of the layer’s window). Layer mask is the best way to isolate an object without lose pixels. This is not a simple argument for Photoshop beginners, and I suggest you to read some articles about this topic that is fundamental if you want to seriously work with Photoshop.


Step 3
Select the lady’s layer (not the mask) and go to Image>Adjustments>Threshold. Put 90 as threshold value. Now you can use the erase tool to eliminate unwanted pixels, or (the better method) select the mask and remove unwanted pixels with a black brush.
(When you use layer mask, black eliminate while white restore the image).


Step 4
The aim of this step is to isolate black parts of the image. So make sure to have black as foreground color and go to select>Color range. Set fuzziness to 200 and hit OK.


Step 5
In the Paths window click on the right arrow and select Make Work Path with tolerance 1,0. Now in the layer window create a new layer, grab the pen tool and right click on the canvas>Fill Path. Call this layer “lady black” and hide the other lady’s layer.

White has disappeared. You can also delete the path.



Step 6
Create a new layer and with a black brush start painting over the white parts in the hair of the lady.
Also create a new layer, fill it with white and place it below the “lady black” layer.


Step 7
Create a new layer and use splatter brushes to paint around the hair of the lady.
This is my result:



Step 8
Paste in the texture. At this point we have to play again with selections and layer mask: with the texture layer selected, ctrl+click on the “lady black” layer to select its pixels. Then shift+ctrl+click on the layers where you’ve painted on with the brushes to select also their pixels. You should obtain something like this:


Step 9
Add a layer mask to the texture layer. Now you can hide all the other layers except the white background.


Step 10
Now we can add a gradient adjustment layer (click on the “create new adjustment layer” at the bottom of the layer window and select “gradient”).
You can choose one of the default gradients or create a new one with the colors you prefer.
Set the gradient layer to overlay.



Finished!

NANGKENE RUSAK `E