Saturday, November 12

Natural Film Grain


Natural Film Grain

By Denny Tang Nov 11, 2011
Photoshop Tutorials -
Learn how to use Photoshop to simulate natural film grain on digital photographs. This beginner Photoshop tutorial will show you how to add natural looking noise using a non-destructive process. If you use Photoshop CS3, you will also learn how to add this effect using Smart Filters.




Step 1: Open an image into Photoshop

To open an image, choose File> Open. Browse for the image file and click OK.



Step 2: Create a new layer

First, we're going to create a new layer for the film grain instead of working directly on the photo. By using a new layer, we're practicing what is called non-destructive editing. Non-destructive editing means that all effects are on their own seperate layers so that they can be edited or removed anytime without undoing a bunch of steps. 

To create a new layer, click on the "New Layer" icon in the layers pallet or go to Layer> New Layer. Rename the new layer from Layer 1 to Film Grain. To rename a layer, simply double-click on the layer name in the Layers pallet and edit.




Step 3: Fill the layer with 50% gray

We'll begin working on this layer by adding a 50% gray color. 

To do this, press Shift+Backspace or choose to Edit> Fill. Click on the Use drop down menu, select 50% gray and click OK. The Film Grain layer should now be filled with a 50% gray color.







Step 4: Set the blending mode to Overlay

Now change the blending mode of the current layer to Overlay. You should now see the layer below in the document window. Many of the blending modes including Overlay will treat a neutral 50% gray as a transparent color. You can also use a 50% gray layer to add different filter effects without editing the original Background layer.

If you are using Photoshop CS3, you can use non-destructive Smart Filters by converting this layer into a Smart Object. To do this, right mouse click on the layer and select Convert to Smart Object or go to Layer> Smart Objects> Convert to Smart Object. 

The layer thumbnail should now have a small icon inside it to indicate that it is a smart object.

Step 5: Add noise

To add noise, choose Filter> Noise> Add Noise. In the Add Noise filter, set the amount to 400% and click OK. If you are working with a black-and-white image, checkmark Monochromatic to make the noise black-and-white. 

Don't worry about the amount of noise added; we will adjust this setting later.
Note: If you are working on a Smart Object with Photoshop CS3, the filter you apply will be smart which means that you can edit the settings anytime you want.

Step 6: Blur the noise

We added some noise, but it looks like digital noise instead of film noise. Fixing this is easy: just blur the noise. Choose Filter> Blur> Gaussian Blur.

Adjust the radius to get the noise result you like and click OK.




Step 7: Adjust the intensity of the noise

The grain should appear to be very strong; perhaps too strong for most situations. 

To reduce the visibility of the film grain, simply reduce the opacity of the Film Grain layer. If you are using Photoshop CS3, you can double click on the Gaussian Blur Smart Filter and edit the settings if it is not what you want.






Final Results

Original Image

 

Natural Film Grain Photoshop Tutorial

 



 




Tuesday, November 8

Surprisingly Easy Rainbow Light Painting Effect

Surprisingly Easy Rainbow Light Painting Effect

skill level :basics

source : HERE 

 

 

 Give your photos a unique look with this retro effect that's super easy and fun. You will learn how to create this effect with just one layer and three colors.

Step 1

Start off by opening any photo into Photoshop. This effect works best with isolated objects on black backgrounds such as the image below


Step 2

To begin, we'll desaturate the image. This step isn't necessary to get the effect, but it will be helpful when we're painting. In the Layers palette, click on the button and choose Hue/Saturation.




In the Hue/Saturation tool, set the Saturation to -100 then click OK.


Step 3

Now we'll create a new layer. This is the layer where we will be painting the colors on. Click on the button in the Layers palette. This will create a new layer called "Layer 1".


Change the blending mode of Layer 1 to Color.



Step 4

The primary colors that we'll be using are yellow, magenta, and cyan. Before we start painting, we'll use the Swatches palette so that we can quickly select those three colors. In the Swatches palette (Window > Swatches), click on the icon then choose one of the PANTONE CMYK swatches.




When it asks if you want to replace or append the swatch, choose replace. Your swatch palette will now have yellow, magenta, and cyan as the first three colors. Now you can select one of these three colors quickly.

Step 5

 Select the tool from the toolbar. Right mouse click on the image and the brush options will appear. Set the hardness setting to 0%. Don't worry about the master diameter setting yet.




Step 6

Begin by selecting either yellow, magenta, or cyan from the Swatches palette and painting anywhere in the image with a large brush size. You can adjust the brush size by pressing the [ or ] key on your keyboard.




Select a different color and paint the rest of the image.



Final Results
Now that you're done, you can delete the Hue/Saturation adjustment layer.